KASHIF HUSNAIN SHAH


I was in the office when the telephone had rung. On the other side, there was Mr. Danyal Ahuja- my second boss that time. He said ‘there are two apprentices sitting in Room No. 04. Bring them up’. I put off the phone and went down the stairs to call them up.

There in Room No. 04, I saw two individuals – strangers at first look. One standing and one sitting. The guy who was sitting was Kashif Husnain Shah for whom this blog post is all about. The guy who was standing was Mr. Umar Arshad.  I shook hand with both of them and said boss is calling you up. This was my first interaction with Kashif Husnain Shah.

I found him very industrious guy through out apprenticeship. He would do anything to learn about practical engineering. He would overstay. Prepare a P&ID or would just help his seniors. He had been superb and I have never saw him being scolded by any boss.

Born on April 13, 1984, in Lahore. He had a very simple nature since his childhood. He recalled that ‘I was never a troublemaker for my parents.I had been very close to the reality since start, as I knew instinctively that what to demand and what not to. I was a kid who would not take part in doing naughty things. If my two brothers would fight, I would prefer only see them fighting and wishing them to stop.’

Being an introvert- he went to school, college and finally to university without making much noise. I asked whats it like to be an introvert? He returned, ‘ Look! there are every kind of people and I am from those who speak only when is required. Sometimes people interpret it like I am someone who is proud and haughty or whatever. But its like what I am. I talk when it is necessary to talk.  I am happy the way I am.’

One of the best quality – that is quite an exceptional is that Kashif Husnain has got full control on his nerves. I have never seen him going wild. On asking, whats the secret of your coolness he said, ” Well, its nothing which I have adopted by effort, its natural. I think I got this inherited from my Mom”.

Image

He is the firm believer of the Allah’s blessings on him. ” I feel no hesitation in saying that though I was hardworking but I never could produce awesome marks in exams. But still, it happened that I was luckily hired by Pakistan’s one of the best corporation. I had very little to wish or expect from life. But I have more than that. I was a person who could remain on the meager allowances but God has bestowed me much more than I had wanted.”

His career has been in ups and down, and in that light, I asked which was the weakness you thought you had to overcome?

“Well, being a human I think I have a lot of weaknesses. But one, on which I passionately worked was ‘communication’. I had to work hard to make it better. You may say that I am very good at accommodating people but its because I can’t say No. It feels quite awkward to me that I am negating someone. I have been through this many times in my life. My emotional self always have overcome my conscious-self”

We all have hobbies and which one is yours?

“I wanted to be good at playing cricket. I couldn’t. My inspiration was my brother who used to make big hits. Then again, my brother lured me towards keeping sports cars. I am in love with this hobby- to have sports cars. If I have ever thought about myself to gift me something – I think about having cars. That’s it. Else all I want to do is to accommodate my parents. Their wishes and dreams are my goals to achieve.”

He has been to three different assignment in his career of seven years. His mother unit was Utilities Unit, wherein I still work. From there he was transferred to DAP. After a little stay at DAP he is transferred to Coal project. For these frequent changes he said ‘ Well, changing is overall good. It keeps you fresh because same routine exhausts and frustrates. But yeah you may say, he joked that, I am a jack of all but master for none.’

Published by: Waqar Ahmed Shar

Waqar Ahmed Shar is a freelancer, Sociologist, webmaster and Computer Operator at Fauji Fertilizer Bin Qasim Limited, Karachi Pakistan. He received his M.A Sociology from Shah Abdul Latif University. After his part-time five year career as a freelancer, he launched whrill.com where he writes on social and psychological issues. In addition to this website, he is a regular contributor to a number of online and print newspapers and an enthusiastic Lakers fan. He currently resides in Karachi, Pakistan with his wife Sidra Waqar and a son Shahzaib.

Tags2 Comments

2 thoughts on “KASHIF HUSNAIN SHAH”

  1. Thank you waqar for writing such good things for me, I amfeeling honoured.
    I think for being a good writer one has to be a good evaluator as well and my friend you have got both the qualities.
    Keep up the good work.

    Like

Hey hey! What have you got to say?

